Setting up a website

For many years I had used a couple of internet service providers – Register.com and Yahoo Small Business.

Through these companies I bought a number of domains but used only Yahoo for web-hosting.

The issue with Register was that I found the email service difficult to manage and was unable to launch a web-site through them.

I had something like 25 domains in total, the majority of these registered under Yahoo, translated into 6 web-sites. Four of these were full web-sites while the other two  were simple landing pages.

I used a Yahoo-recommended web building software called Sitebuilder, easily confused with Sitebuilder the webhosting service when searching for them on the net.

All was well up to 2012 – I had access to the sites and was able to maintain them using Sitebuilder and even used html to code some pages and content.

I was then obliged to put the maintenance on hold for a while as some time-hungry projects had come up. To cut a long intro short I found that I was unable to get access to my domains for maintenence purposes. Sitebuilder refused to let me in and once I was able to get in I could not download the sites in order to maintain them.

Countless contacts with the helpdesk got me nowhere.

Having gone to the trouble of buying a new laptop (PC) and having tried to upgrade and downgrade the Windows OS I got nowhere. Sitebuilder does not work on Mac hence the need to use a PC. Situation made worse by having both my new laptop and my Macbook go missing in transit between Mexico and Brazil!

I had no alternative but to ditch Sitebuilder and therefore to rethink both Yahoo (Aabaco) and the number of domains that I owned.

The re-thinking process began in earnest this year. I looked at 10 service providers in addition to another that I used (Amazing Internet) before deciding on SquareSpace.

My new ShootStock site is now running, though still work in progress in parts. On balance I found that SquareSpace offered both a flexible site that, while not perfect, as well as domain hosting. I am still experimenting with the site – and its blog capabilities, and in the meantime I am running three blogs in parallel: this one, Shoot Stories and Continental Drifter.

Feel free to contact me for details of my reviews of other web providers.

Leave a Reply

